Words on the Wind

Restaurant Review: Ray’s Boathouse

Leave a comment

This past August of 2012, I took a trip down to the lovely city of Seattle, Washington.   While I was there, a relative suggested we go to Ray’s Boathouse, a fine dining restaurant located right on the very edge of the sound, along Seaview avenue.

Grilled Alaskan Halibut

I enjoyed this Alaskan Halibut at Ray’s Boathouse this summer.

From the exterior of Ray’s, one wouldn’t expect the inside to be so lavishly decorated and have such an esteemed feel.

We were seated at a beautifully set table by the window looking out to the sound.  It was very peaceful and serine.   When our wonderfully friendly waitress came to take our meal requests, I asked for the Grilled Alaskan Halibut which was served with  jasmine rice, red spring onions, english cucumber, tamarind, and a wasabi antique.     The meal was priced at $36.oo.   The price seemed a bit high, but when the food was presented and tasted, it was well worth the money.   The meal was not too large, not too petite.  The amount on the plate was just right and still left room for my favorite course, dessert.   The fish was cooked beautifully, and the flavors blended together exceptionally well.   The meal was rich and satisfying, but not overwhelming.

For dessert, I was presented with fabulous choices.  The one I decided on was the Quadruple Chocolate Mousse made with semisweet and milk chocolate, chocolate cookie crust, caramelized orange sauce, and sprinkled with just enough cocoa nibs.   It was the perfect size and texture.   It was heavenly.   The dessert was not as pricy, only costing $7.50.   A very scrumptious dessert and perfectly balanced.

Dessert.

For me, coming to Ray’s Boathouse was the essence of my final day in Seattle.   My relative who took me there wanted to show me the beauty of Seattle through seafood, and until we came upon Ray’s, we had not yet found it.   It was a wonderful experience, the food, the staff, and the location.   I will never forget enjoying that meal with the people I love in a beautiful place, with the sun’s setting rays dancing over the waters of the sound as we ate and enjoyed.

Author: lindsay103194

My name is Lindsay. I was born in 1994. I am a story-teller, writer, and photographer. I love all crazy different things! I also love all types of art because you can express yourself through it and create anything you can dream of! P.S. If you have any feedback, I would love to hear it!

Leave a Reply

