Words on the Wind

Fly on the Wall: The Diner

Leave a comment

    

The sign outside of my hometown diner.

     Sitting in an old booth, at a table whose tablecloth doesn’t quite match with the rest of the decor, I observe; becoming a fly on the wall.

     The building is smaller on the inside than it appears from the street, the majority of the building being a kitchen and a set of halls that  lead to a loft apartment.   The light pink-tinted walls are covered with Coca-Cola signs, old movie posters, and vintage food trays in no particular order.   In the front corner, there is an old jukebox that I believe hasn’t been played in a couple of years.   As you walk from the front door to the other side of the dining lounge on the black and white tile floor, there is a small counter with a few stools that I like to think of as the “ice cream bar”.      A shake machine, glasses, ice cream bowls, coffee cups, toppings, and a coffee maker crowed the counters along the bar in a tidy mess. 

     The smell of home-cooked food fills the air around me as I rest my steaming coffee cup back on the slightly sticky table.   All around me there is a quiet hum of conversation and the occasional too loud laugh will ring through the small lounge.   It is a happy place; a place where the local townsfolk gather to find out the latest gossip, where children flock to the ice cream bar, and travelers go to enjoy a meal and decide where they will go next.

Author: lindsay103194

My name is Lindsay. I was born in 1994. I am a story-teller, writer, and photographer. I love all crazy different things! I also love all types of art because you can express yourself through it and create anything you can dream of! P.S. If you have any feedback, I would love to hear it!

Leave a Reply

