Words on the Wind

Shakespearean Dictionary Project

Leave a comment

Shakespear is a wonderful writer, but because of the way we speak today, many people delay in reading his works.   The dialog of Shakespears time is much different from ours, however, I believe we should embrace the differences and learn to understand them.   The way people spoke while Shakespeare was alive is a part of our history and I believe it is important to be able to read it.

This list of Shakespearean terms provides definitions of some of the words that are used often in William Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, along with a sample sentence of how they are used.

’tis:  it is  –   “‘Tis the way to call hers,exquisite, in question more.”

gi’: give   –   “God gi’ good e’en.”

e’er:  ever  –   “If e’er thou wast thyself, and these woes thine, thou and these woes were all for Rosaline.”

e’en: evening (i.e., afternoon)   –  “Good e’en, good fellow.”

coying:  affection of shyness   –   “But trust me, gentleman, I’ll prove more true than those that have more coying to be strange.”

stol’n: a secret – “I married them, and their stol’n marriage day was Tybalt’s doomsday…”

o’erperch:   fly over   –   “With love’s light wings did I o’erperch these walls, for stony limits cannot hold love out…”

th’: the   –   “T’h’ exchange of thy love’s faithful vow for mine.” 

morrow: morning  –   “God give you a good morrow, gentlemen.”

afeard:  afraide   –   “I am afeard, being in night, all this is but a dream, too flattering sweet to be substantial.”

on:  i.e. go forward   –   “Or shall we on without apology?”

‘t:  it  –   “Let me be satisfied; is ‘t good or bad?”

ne’er:  never  –   “Did you ne’er hear say ‘two many keepcouncel, putting one away’?”

oft: often  –   “Thou chid’st me oft for loving Rosaline.”

in: i.e., into   –   “But first let me tell you, if you should lead her in a fool’s paradise,as they say, it were a very gross kind of behavior, as they say.”

o’er: over again   –   “Read o’er the volume of young Paris’ face, and find delight writ there with beauty’s pen.”

i’: in  –   “I’ faith, I am sorry that thou art not well.”

on ‘t: of it   –   “Why, I am glad on ‘t.”

fair: to be beautiful.   –  “These happy masks that kiss fair ladies’ brows…”

an: if   –  “Nay an there were two such, we should have none shortly, for one would kill the other.”

upon: to  –   “It is my soul that calls upon my name”

o’clock:  time   –  “What o’clock tomorrow shall I send to thee?”

Author: lindsay103194

My name is Lindsay. I was born in 1994. I am a story-teller, writer, and photographer. I love all crazy different things! I also love all types of art because you can express yourself through it and create anything you can dream of! P.S. If you have any feedback, I would love to hear it!

Leave a Reply

