Words on the Wind

Inked

Leave a comment

Which way? (Image credited to rightful owner)

When I say inked or ink,  I’m simply referring to the process of getting a tattoo, or a tattoo in general.   Tattoos are beautiful to me, a type of art, despite the reconciliation they may get from others.   I believe all tattoos are unique and special; they all have a meaning.   Whether the tattoo owner’s goal is to resemble or represent  a memory of an event or person, religion, love, favored item, a memento;  it all means something.   Some even go as far as to tell a story, right there, written out on their skin for the world to see.   It takes my breath away.   Those against them often have a hard time seeing it, but that doesn’t make it any less true.   Sometimes the tattoo can be crude and kinda inappropriate, but that’s the person wearing them, not the art in itself.On my eighteenth birthday, which will be here on October 31st, I want to get my very first tattoo.   I have already personally designed three tattoos, each of them meaning something special to me and each of them being unique.  I plan on getting each one someday, but I absolutely do plan on getting them.   The tattoos that I made are each special to me and each mean something.   The first one I plan on getting is a small quote I found in one of my favorite books, reminding me to just be me – something I desperately need to remember – along with a flower I drew.   The others are of things such as a symbol of something I treasure, and a name I hold dear.

I am a Christian and I am proud of it.   I do not believe my tattoos will separate me from my God whatsoever!   My body is said to be His temple; I am simply decorating its walls with pictures that cause no disrespect to Him, me, or the people around me.   I feel getting inked is another way people express themselves.   It is usually a personal process that brings about a sense of freedom when completed.

As much as it saddens me to think of, some of my family members are against my dreams of a tattoo.   They think the placement I have decided on (my shoulder-blade) is too prominent and the size too large.   They are worried about what others will think of me, which goes against exactly what my tattoo will stand for.   As much as I need them to, they don’t understand what it means to me.   You can’t let anyone stop you from being you, you just have to take the first step in getting there.   It is not just a worthless picture I want drawn on my skin, it is my very own piece of treasure I can carry with me and never lose.    I love my family very much and would never want to disrespect them or disobey my parents, I just would rather do it with their blessing rather than their reconcile.   But, I will do it either way…

It’s only forever…Not long at all. (Image credited to rightful owner)

So there is my opinion of tattoos and my story laid out before your very eyes.   The view I have on the art that can very possibly change a person’s life.   A confession of my dreams.

Author: lindsay103194

My name is Lindsay. I was born in 1994. I am a story-teller, writer, and photographer. I love all crazy different things! I also love all types of art because you can express yourself through it and create anything you can dream of! P.S. If you have any feedback, I would love to hear it!

Leave a Reply

