Words on the Wind

3 Books on a Deserted Island

Leave a comment

Usually the question would be, “if you were stranded on a deserted island and you had the choice to bring three things with you, what would they be?”.   In my case, however, the question is, “what three books would you bring with you to a deserted island?”.   This question narrows it down quite a bit for me, going from any three objects in the whole wide world, to simply three books.   Even though the decision has been narrowed down for me, I still find it hard to answer.   I really love books, and have read quite a few great ones in my short lifetime.

At first, I thought I would bring one of my favorite trilogies, but then I got to thinking, what if I get tired of the same characters in each book?   Is that even possible?  Well, if it is possible, I don’t want to take any chances.

Next, I considered bringing one of my all time favorite books, Jane Eyre, but then I also started to wonder, well, the book does have a lot of sad parts in it…would being alone on a deserted island make me more sensitive and just make me cry harder for longer?   Now, if that is the case, I sure wouldn’t want to bring that book just to waste time and precious energy crying over the sad parts of Jane’s life.

Finally, I decided to just go ahead and bring these three books:

1.  The Adventure of Huckleberry Finn.   Because this book is so fun, I think it would be great to help keep my spirits up and hopefully give me a sense of adventure.

2.  Alice in Wonderland or Through the Looking Glass.   This book is also full of adventure and curiosity, another great choice for me.

3.  There and Back Again, a Hobbit’s Tale.   Yet another book full of adventure!  I just adore this book.   Who doesn’t like J.R.R Tolken?   I also believe that because of all the different creatures in this book, it would keep me preoccupied because – due to my strange mind – I would convince myself they were real and on the island with me.

So there you have it, a list of the three books I would take with me to a deserted island.   They are great and well thought out choices for myself.   It was fun to come up with this list.   That is something you could do for fun if you like to read.   And besides, you never know, you could really use this list someday!

All alone on a deserted island of my own. (Photo credited to rightful owner)

Author: lindsay103194

My name is Lindsay. I was born in 1994. I am a story-teller, writer, and photographer. I love all crazy different things! I also love all types of art because you can express yourself through it and create anything you can dream of! P.S. If you have any feedback, I would love to hear it!

Leave a Reply

