Words on the Wind

A Perfect Day

1 Comment

If I were to have a perfect day, it would go like this.

It is beautiful sunny morning.   At 7:30 a.m., the warm rays of the sun shine through my window and gently tickle my cheek, waking me from a beautiful dream.   All around me, the warm smell of coffee flowing through the air.   I make my way to the kitchen where I find a warm blueberry muffin waiting for me, left by my lovely husband before he had to leave for work.   After breakfast, it’s 8:00 a.m.   I get ready for the day and find a beautiful, light, colorful sweater in my closet along with a pair of new jeans I had forgotten about from the other day.   I put the outfit on and prepare to face the world.   It is now 9:30, and I’m ready to head out into the world.   Before I leave I put on a cute pair of tall boots and grab my pocket-book with just enough cash in it to supply me with a day of fun of shopping.  I head for the door.

When I step outside, I realize I’m not in my little Colorado town, I’m in Ireland.   The sun is just coming out after it rained through the night.   I take a dirt path heading to a small village.   As I walk, I hear the birds beginning their songs and feel the gentle, cool breeze guiding me along.   The rain left the air fresh and cool.   The perfect spring day.   When I reach the village, it is 10:00 a.m.   I catch the morning bus and head to Dublin.   The bus is lively and full of smiling faces.   At 11:00 a.m. the happy bus comes to a slow halt and I dismount into the busy Irish city of Dublin.   I head to Grafton Street and am suddenly awakened by the crowd.  I visit a few shops, find a few little things I can’t live without, grab a delicious looking pastry, and start heading back to the bus stop.   It is now 2:00 p.m.   I’ve reached the bus stop and see my husband waiting for me.   He is off of work early today.   He drives us to our favorite little restaurant, back in the village close to our house.   He drives much faster than the bus, and we reach the café a little after 2;45 p.m.   We have a splendidly prepared meal, and after we have filled ourselves and ordered desert to go, we head back to our cozy cottage.

It is now 5:00 p.m.   We put on another layer of clothing, grab our dog, and walk down the slightly steep, dirt path to the quiet shoreline below our cottage.   When we reach the beach, I can’t hold myself back, I throw my boots off, roll up my jeans and run to wade in the cold waves of the Atlantic ocean.   My husband and dog run in after me.   We laugh and run, but try our hardest not to give into the temptation to splash, knowing we’ll regret it later when the temperature drops on our way back, all the while our dog jumps happily in and out of the lazy waves.   We put our shoes on and continue our stroll.   It’s 7:45 p.m. when we reach home again.   The walk was refreshing and a wonderful way to relax after a wonderful day.

We are all settled down in our cottage by 8:00 p.m.   I dry our dog off and we change into our cozy pajamas.   At 8:30 p.m. I fix us up some homemade hot cocoa, and we head outside to watch the sunset.   Because its spring, the sun doesn’t set until nearly 9:00 p.m., so we have a little while to wait.   While we are sitting outside enjoying each other’s company and waiting for the sun to sink into the ocean, we see headlights coming down our lane at 8:45 p.m.    Our dog runs to meet the car, now parked in front of our cottage.   Familiar faces are lit by the last rays of the sun, it is my family!   My Mother and Father!   With them, my brother, on spring break from the Air Force Academy.  My two sisters and their families are there as well!   All came on a surprise visit from the United States!  I rush to meet them and greet them with warm hugs!   I grab their bags, chattering happily the whole time, and hustle them along while my husband proudly leads the way to our home with even more luggage in his arms.   Our dog runs around the group of us excitedly as we head for the front door.   It is 9:00 p.m. now.   The sun has gone down and my entire family sits in the living room, some in cozy chairs, and others, like my husband, dog, and myself, content with the warm rug on the floor.   We share stories and I whip up a new batch of hot cocoa with the help of my mother.   My mother helps me fix up a quick batch of cookies as well while my husband silently hides the deserts we brought home from dinner, not wanting to share.   I Laugh when I see him, but say nothing so I don’t spoil his progress.   By 10:00 p.m., we are stuffed full of cookies and filled to the bursting point with hot cocoa.   The house is warm and full of laughter.   My dog is sleeping soundly on the living room rug, and all feels right with the world.    At 11:00 p.m., my visiting family are tired from their surprise journey to see us, but I’m still bristling with excitement at their arrival.   With the advice of my wise husband, I finally let my family retire to their rooms for a well deserved rest.   Having given our room up to my parents, my husband and I settle for a bed of blankets on the living room floor, our dog taking the opportunity to share it with us.   The whole house falls into a deep and peaceful sleep, resting up for tomorrow – Saturday – and a day filled with fun and way too much enthusiasm on my part.

That is my idea of a perfect day.

 

© Lindsay Amber

Author: lindsay103194

My name is Lindsay. I was born in 1994. I am a story-teller, writer, and photographer. I love all crazy different things! I also love all types of art because you can express yourself through it and create anything you can dream of! P.S. If you have any feedback, I would love to hear it!

One thought on “A Perfect Day

  1. wonderful!

Leave a Reply

