Words on the Wind

To Keep a Journal

4 Comments

As of late, I have decided to keep a hand-written journal. I guess I became inspired to write down my thoughts and going-ons after reading Dracula. Thus I have pledged to keep a journal for the whole of 2013 and see how it goes.

Why 2013, you may ask? Well, I feel like 2013 is a year of many changes. I am in my final year of high school, I will be attending a university, and will be a part of a collegiate sports team – to name a few I am aware of. So why not keep a journal? I feel like this is the year when I will take a huge step into the beginning of my life away from home, and also a step forward, full of discovery and new things.

Another reason for my keeping of a journal is so it can be passed along as my legacy. I would absolutely love to read my mother’s journal from when she was my age, and even my grandmother’s. Sadly, none of them kept one. I am a huge writer, I scribble down anything at anytime and anywhere. When I grow old, I want to be able to look back on the memories I gained, the laughter I shared, and the friends I once knew. Perhaps even the pain I had to endure, to remind me of how I became stronger. If anything were to happen to me, I would like to leave this little piece of me for my family to refer to when they think of me, like the one left by Anne Frank.

There are so many reasons why keeping a journal may be a good idea, this is simply my reason. So if you’re up for a challenge, try it out for yourself. Keep a journal as your legacy.

e85

Author: lindsay103194

My name is Lindsay. I was born in 1994. I am a story-teller, writer, and photographer. I love all crazy different things! I also love all types of art because you can express yourself through it and create anything you can dream of! P.S. If you have any feedback, I would love to hear it!

4 thoughts on “To Keep a Journal

  1. Really good to read about traditional journals in the digital era 😉
    Good luck writing it

  2. Fantastic idea!!!

Leave a Reply

