Words on the Wind

What’s in a Name?

4 Comments

Names are such a huge part of who you are. They are used as a signature of your personal being. Your name is what you are recognized by. A name can even last long after you have passed away. What about the moon? Has it ever dawned on you that the moon doesn’t have a real name? I have been pondering this questions for two years now, and it really bothers me. Is it just me, or has anyone else wondered this?

Sure, the moon has a title, but not a name. Think of it this way; the Earth’s moon, is just called the Earth’s moon. What kind of a name is that? Well, it’s not. Mars has “moons,” but they each have names like Phobos and Deimos, they aren’t called just moon – a title of the object that they are. Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto all have “moons” that all have names! Even if one of the other planets’ moons is only know by numbers, at least they have a signature! Not poor old Earth’s moon.

I don’t understand why this is, or how this has come to be. If anyone out there can shed some light on my confused mind, please do!

Doesn't our beautiful moon deserve a name too?

Doesn’t our beautiful moon deserve a name too?

 

©Lindsay Amber

Author: lindsay103194

My name is Lindsay. I was born in 1994. I am a story-teller, writer, and photographer. I love all crazy different things! I also love all types of art because you can express yourself through it and create anything you can dream of! P.S. If you have any feedback, I would love to hear it!

4 thoughts on “What’s in a Name?

  1. I don’t know how much light I can shed, but the moon’s supposed name is Luna. It is the Latin name for our satellite. It is also the name of the Roman goddess of the moon. The earth’s actual name, not that you asked, is Terra. More Latin. There’s a lot of circular reasoning going on here.

    Personally, I favor randomly assigning names for things. The moon could be called “Cosgrove”. Good as any.

    • Thank you for the comment. I am, however, not fully convinced. It sounds like Luna is just how you say moon in Latin, and Terra is just how you say Earth in Latin. The moon is called Selene in Greek, and Amar in Arabic. That is simply how they say moon in their tongue. I don’t thinks it’s really a name, but I could be wrong.

      Thank you again for your thoughts! They are much appreciated.

      • Truth is, I’m not fully convinced, either. To my knowledge, there’s never been an official naming protocol for our planet and its satellite. Consider how difficult it is to get the nations of Earth to agree on nearly anything. Seems a steep hill to climb. So your question really has no answer that I’m aware of.

      • Yes, I agree. Getting the world to agree on one name would be very difficult. I guess I will just have to “nickname” the moon for my own enjoyment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

